Advice on building a new computer

A forum for discussing hardware related news, help, rumors, etc...

Moderators: boat, rickh

User avatar
[NME]T-Bone
[NME] tried and true
[NME] tried and true
Posts: 2818
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2002 8:00 pm
Location: Sharpsville, PA

Post by [NME]T-Bone » Thu May 03, 2007 7:31 am

for you nvidia fans. ;) :roll: :P

nvidia 8800 ultra
T-Bone

"If we hit that bullseye, the rest of the dominos
will fall like a house of cards. Checkmate."

User avatar
Cobra
Crusty Ole Barnacle
Crusty Ole Barnacle
Posts: 297
Joined: Tue Oct 15, 2002 7:39 pm
Location: Western North Carolina
Contact:

Post by Cobra » Thu May 17, 2007 9:26 am

Well Monday I finally got the last piece to build a new desktop.

Its a,

DFI INFINITY NF ULTRAII-M2 Socket AM2 NVIDIA nForce4 Ultra ATX AMD Motherboard

AMD Athlon 64 X2 4600+ Windsor 2.4GHz 2 x 512KB L2 Cache Socket AM2 Processor

Kingston 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 667 (PC2 5300) Dual Channel

EVGA 512-P2-N548-TX GeForce 7600GS 512MB 128-bit GDDR2 PCI Express x16 Video Card

Nothing super fast but gotta be better than my current machine.
Well all went well till I connected the original hard drive and it wouldn't boot into windows.
So I tried a another drive with nothing but the os on it.
Still wouldn't boot.
Last night a guy on a forum said to do a clean install with the drive connected to the new mobo.


Well it worked.

After all these years of just installing the mobo in the old case and using the old drive want work. :evil:

So now I have to start over completely new with my old c: drive!?
Dang it!!!

User avatar
boat
[NME] tried and true
[NME] tried and true
Posts: 2753
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2001 8:00 pm
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Contact:

Post by boat » Thu May 17, 2007 4:36 pm

what boot order do you have the drives? some might default to sata if its newer...or if you have a sata drive, then the new mb might be defaulted to the ide channel.

User avatar
[NME]T-Bone
[NME] tried and true
[NME] tried and true
Posts: 2818
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2002 8:00 pm
Location: Sharpsville, PA

Post by [NME]T-Bone » Fri May 18, 2007 7:23 am

ummm... it's very difficult to swap a mobo & processor and still have your old drive with OS work properly. all of the drivers will be wrong. sometimes it possible to uninstall all your drivers then do a repair install to get the new chipset drivers and all in place, but even that isn't foolproof.
T-Bone

"If we hit that bullseye, the rest of the dominos
will fall like a house of cards. Checkmate."

User avatar
Cobra
Crusty Ole Barnacle
Crusty Ole Barnacle
Posts: 297
Joined: Tue Oct 15, 2002 7:39 pm
Location: Western North Carolina
Contact:

Post by Cobra » Mon May 21, 2007 10:11 am

Well I ended up using a spare drive I had.

And I am re-installing all the software that want run just by dragging it over.

But anyway I was told that up to win xp you could get away with using the same drive in a mobo upgrade.

Cant remember, but I know this is the first time I have had this problem.

Maybe this is the first time I have upgraded since I bought win xp. :D :o

So far so good but that EVGA video card fan is NOISY!!!!

User avatar
boat
[NME] tried and true
[NME] tried and true
Posts: 2753
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2001 8:00 pm
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Contact:

Post by boat » Tue May 22, 2007 9:32 pm

you might consider one of these for your new build as well.

:lol: :drinking: :P

User avatar
Cobra
Crusty Ole Barnacle
Crusty Ole Barnacle
Posts: 297
Joined: Tue Oct 15, 2002 7:39 pm
Location: Western North Carolina
Contact:

Post by Cobra » Wed May 30, 2007 11:52 am

Now thats neet. :D

That would go good with my wifes Vendo 44 Coke machine.
.
Image

User avatar
[NME]T-Bone
[NME] tried and true
[NME] tried and true
Posts: 2818
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2002 8:00 pm
Location: Sharpsville, PA

Post by [NME]T-Bone » Wed May 30, 2007 3:49 pm

Cobra wrote:Now thats neet. :D

That would go good with my wifes Vendo 44 Coke machine.
.
Image
now that machine should go in the pet peeves. you ever try to pull a bottle out of one of those... if you grabbed a wet bottle it was easy to lose your grip. the mechinism would then suck the bottle back in and thinking that it dispensed it, would lock the bottle back in, grrrrrrr!
T-Bone

"If we hit that bullseye, the rest of the dominos
will fall like a house of cards. Checkmate."

User avatar
Cobra
Crusty Ole Barnacle
Crusty Ole Barnacle
Posts: 297
Joined: Tue Oct 15, 2002 7:39 pm
Location: Western North Carolina
Contact:

Re: Advice on building a new computer

Post by Cobra » Thu May 31, 2007 11:47 am

You lost me. :o

This machine drops the 6 1/2" ounce bottle down into the pocket on the front.

User avatar
[NME]T-Bone
[NME] tried and true
[NME] tried and true
Posts: 2818
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2002 8:00 pm
Location: Sharpsville, PA

Re: Advice on building a new computer

Post by [NME]T-Bone » Thu May 31, 2007 8:25 pm

oops, sorry, it looked like a vendo 81. the old soda machine where you had to open the door and pull your soda out.
T-Bone

"If we hit that bullseye, the rest of the dominos
will fall like a house of cards. Checkmate."

Post Reply