Webcams

A forum for discussing hardware related news, help, rumors, etc...

Moderators: boat, rickh

Post Reply
User avatar
Cobra
Crusty Ole Barnacle
Crusty Ole Barnacle
Posts: 297
Joined: Tue Oct 15, 2002 7:39 pm
Location: Western North Carolina
Contact:

Webcams

Post by Cobra » Sat Feb 10, 2007 12:24 pm

Is it possible to take a webcam and view what the cam is looking at on your desktop in a window?

I just was wondering if I could have it watching my driveway while Im sitting at the computer.
Or would I be better off using one of those cheap cams like this?
Image

User avatar
[NME]T-Bone
[NME] tried and true
[NME] tried and true
Posts: 2818
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2002 8:00 pm
Location: Sharpsville, PA

Post by [NME]T-Bone » Sat Feb 10, 2007 2:37 pm

My webcam came with sofware that lets you watch live video. The software can even be set to only record when it senses motion.

it's nice if you wanna watch who's stealing your computer :lol: but without some serious zoom you may not see the end of your driveway very well.

mine is a IBM PC/Net web camera. Don't know if they even make them anymore.
T-Bone

"If we hit that bullseye, the rest of the dominos
will fall like a house of cards. Checkmate."

User avatar
Cobra
Crusty Ole Barnacle
Crusty Ole Barnacle
Posts: 297
Joined: Tue Oct 15, 2002 7:39 pm
Location: Western North Carolina
Contact:

Post by Cobra » Sat Feb 10, 2007 5:16 pm

So webcams are probably for close objects. Only advantage then is they use the usb port. The other cameras would require me using my video input to view on the computer or buy a 7" lcd screen.

Thanks for the help T. :D

User avatar
[NME]T-Bone
[NME] tried and true
[NME] tried and true
Posts: 2818
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2002 8:00 pm
Location: Sharpsville, PA

Post by [NME]T-Bone » Sat Feb 10, 2007 10:05 pm

yep, webcams are mostly for vid conferencing. probably only good to about 5 feet and they usually need decent lighting.
T-Bone

"If we hit that bullseye, the rest of the dominos
will fall like a house of cards. Checkmate."

User avatar
boat
[NME] tried and true
[NME] tried and true
Posts: 2753
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2001 8:00 pm
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Contact:

Post by boat » Sun Feb 11, 2007 9:59 pm

they have 'network' cams too, that you can run off ethernet, or even wireless based cams ;)

User avatar
Cobra
Crusty Ole Barnacle
Crusty Ole Barnacle
Posts: 297
Joined: Tue Oct 15, 2002 7:39 pm
Location: Western North Carolina
Contact:

Post by Cobra » Mon Feb 12, 2007 4:15 pm

I seen a ton of the little wireless cameras from china.
But Im not sure about the network cams you mention.

Unless you mean like my security cameras around my house run into a dvr which is connected to my router that I never could figure out how to setup. :o

Whew

I guess I was hoping a webcam would work so I could use the usb port.

User avatar
[NME]T-Bone
[NME] tried and true
[NME] tried and true
Posts: 2818
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2002 8:00 pm
Location: Sharpsville, PA

Post by [NME]T-Bone » Wed Feb 14, 2007 3:50 pm

probably won't do ya any good, but here is a review of some newer web cams.
T-Bone

"If we hit that bullseye, the rest of the dominos
will fall like a house of cards. Checkmate."

User avatar
Cobra
Crusty Ole Barnacle
Crusty Ole Barnacle
Posts: 297
Joined: Tue Oct 15, 2002 7:39 pm
Location: Western North Carolina
Contact:

Post by Cobra » Fri Mar 02, 2007 2:52 pm

Well since I was last here.........I bought one of these cheap a$$ wireless cameras you see on fleabay and it worked, but....the dang things have a pot on the receiver you have to tune and that sucked.
So I decided I would buy something better.

I put the wireless on ebay to sell and it got took off immediately.
Something about the 1.2ghz is illegal in the US and they dont let anyone sell spy cameras.
WTF!!! There are thousands of these p.o.s. on there each day. I even complained but they bring in to much money and are overlooked.

I sold it on another forum anyway. :D

Now, I got another wired camera. Much better quality. Tried it with a short cable into the composite in on my All In Wonder video card. Worked fine.

So I thought I would try another longer cable. It is a piece thats shielded with the rca connectors on the ends, right.

I have this cable laying in the floor. I plugged one end into my AIW "in" jack. The other end is in the floor.
Just as soon as I plugged this thing in my computer video went BLACK!
I had to do a forced shut down.

Rebooted and oh crap my video card it SHOT! It finally booted to my desktop and then it looks ok.
Except, now all of my inputs on this AIW card is shot to crap.

I checked the cable for a short and its fine. I dont get it. Even if it was shorted shouldn't mattered.

So anyway I have a Nvidia Geforce 7600GS card coming and Ill use my Hauppauge card for video in.

Is something all the time.

Post Reply