AMD 64 X2

A forum for discussing hardware related news, help, rumors, etc...

Moderators: boat, rickh

User avatar
Forester
[NME] tried and true
[NME] tried and true
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2002 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis, MN

AMD 64 X2

Post by Forester » Wed May 31, 2006 9:33 am

Any of you guys running an X2 processor? I was looking at upgrading my AMD 64 3000+ to possibly a 3800+ but then I saw that I could get an x2 3800+ for only about $20 more at newegg.
-Forester

User avatar
[NME]T-Bone
[NME] tried and true
[NME] tried and true
Posts: 2818
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2002 8:00 pm
Location: Sharpsville, PA

Post by [NME]T-Bone » Wed May 31, 2006 10:49 am

yes sir. i have an X2 4400+ with a 10% OC making it the equivelent of the X2 4800+. 8) I'm thinking of pushing it up to 2.5ghz - 2.6ghz. stock is 2.2ghz currently running at 2.42ghz.

edit: grum also has a x2 4400+ i do beleeb.
T-Bone

"If we hit that bullseye, the rest of the dominos
will fall like a house of cards. Checkmate."

User avatar
Forester
[NME] tried and true
[NME] tried and true
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2002 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis, MN

Post by Forester » Wed May 31, 2006 12:49 pm

Damn! What that heck you doin' with all that power? Isn't the X2 4400 around $500?? Geez man. ;-) Here's me thinking that $300 for the X2 3800+ is a little rich for my blood.
-Forester

User avatar
[NME]T-Bone
[NME] tried and true
[NME] tried and true
Posts: 2818
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2002 8:00 pm
Location: Sharpsville, PA

Post by [NME]T-Bone » Wed May 31, 2006 12:58 pm

IIRC, I think I paid about $460 or so back in december. Games need power. Oblivion is very CPU bound. Also, it's not just power. Winbloze is a lot more responsive with dual core's. Multithreaded apps run better and even single threaded apps run better since they can run on a cpu that has less load. Ever try encoding a video, burning a dvd, and playing a game at the same time. This cpu doesn't even hiccup when doing all these things at once.

Anyhow, you might wanna wait until the AM2's are released at which time hopefully the s939's will drop in price.
T-Bone

"If we hit that bullseye, the rest of the dominos
will fall like a house of cards. Checkmate."

User avatar
Forester
[NME] tried and true
[NME] tried and true
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2002 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis, MN

Post by Forester » Wed May 31, 2006 2:25 pm

Ahhh, cool. So your able to make Windoze more *nix like and really, truely multi-task. How novel! ;) Nice to hear it really works that way in real world usage. I'm so used to making sure I close everything before firing up a game just to avoid the chance of something grabbing CPU cycles.

When are the AM2's supposed to be released? Mid-summer?

Thanks T! :)
-Forester

User avatar
[NME]T-Bone
[NME] tried and true
[NME] tried and true
Posts: 2818
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2002 8:00 pm
Location: Sharpsville, PA

Post by [NME]T-Bone » Wed May 31, 2006 2:51 pm

:lol:

Actually, I think the launch for AM2 is in july, but I could be wrong.

There's a great variety of processors now available for Socket AM2: a total of 17 CPUs fill the very generous portfolio for the separate market segments turned out by Dresden's new Fab 36. Production is still based on the 90 nm process but is now on 300 mm wafers. Plans are afoot to introduce 65 nm by the end of the year.

http://www.tomshardware.com/2006/05/23/ ... age13.html

Get rid of the page13.html in the above URL for the whole article. If you don't like having to go thru chit loads of pages, change the page13 to print in the link above. ;)
T-Bone

"If we hit that bullseye, the rest of the dominos
will fall like a house of cards. Checkmate."

User avatar
Forester
[NME] tried and true
[NME] tried and true
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2002 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis, MN

Post by Forester » Wed May 31, 2006 5:22 pm

Gah, I'll have to do another full system upgrade... New mainboard, new CPU, and new memory. But you're right T, once the AM2's come out I should be able to get a deal on a 939 that'll last me until I want to do another big upgrade.
-Forester

User avatar
[NME]T-Bone
[NME] tried and true
[NME] tried and true
Posts: 2818
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2002 8:00 pm
Location: Sharpsville, PA

Post by [NME]T-Bone » Wed May 31, 2006 5:31 pm

Oops... did I forget to mention that AM2 isn't socket compatible with s939 and the IMC now runs DDR2? :lol:

For now, they haven't perfected the DDR2 latencies so performance wise the AM2's are on par with their corresponding 939 counterparts. If you get a s939 you should be good for at least 6+ months when they come out with the 65nm die.

Also, intel is to release it's Conroe chip in June if not already. Been reading good stuff about it. At the very least it's coming in much cheaper than the 939's and AMD may cut their prices in order to be competetive.
T-Bone

"If we hit that bullseye, the rest of the dominos
will fall like a house of cards. Checkmate."

User avatar
Grummun
[NME] tried and true
[NME] tried and true
Posts: 205
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 3:49 pm
Location: Central OH
Contact:

Post by Grummun » Thu Jun 01, 2006 7:55 am

[NME]T-Bone wrote:yes sir. i have an X2 4400+ with a 10% OC making it the equivelent of the X2 4800+. 8) I'm thinking of pushing it up to 2.5ghz - 2.6ghz. stock is 2.2ghz currently running at 2.42ghz.

edit: grum also has a x2 4400+ i do beleeb.
I do have a 4400 x2. If you're thinking about picking one up, take a close look at the cache-per-core; at the time I bought mine, the 4000 and 4400 had twice the cache that the 3800 and 4200 had (that's the big reason I went for the 4400). Unlike T, I pretty much only play games on my windows rig, so I maybe went a little overboard, but I only get the chance to upgrade every few years, so this'll have to hold me for a while. Some older games get a little confused by the dual-core thing, and you need to set the process affinity to one core to keep the game running smoothly, but that's the only problem that I've had.

User avatar
[NME]T-Bone
[NME] tried and true
[NME] tried and true
Posts: 2818
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2002 8:00 pm
Location: Sharpsville, PA

Post by [NME]T-Bone » Thu Jun 01, 2006 10:42 am

Grummun wrote:Unlike T, I pretty much only play games on my windows rig
wha? no pr0n? :lol:

yes, the 3800 has 2x512k (512k/core) cache where as the 4400 has 2x1024k(1mb/core) cache. the performance difference is small as of now, but the larger cache will future proof you.
T-Bone

"If we hit that bullseye, the rest of the dominos
will fall like a house of cards. Checkmate."

User avatar
Forester
[NME] tried and true
[NME] tried and true
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2002 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis, MN

Post by Forester » Thu Jun 01, 2006 3:59 pm

Good to know. Thanks guys. :)
-Forester

User avatar
Grummun
[NME] tried and true
[NME] tried and true
Posts: 205
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 3:49 pm
Location: Central OH
Contact:

Post by Grummun » Fri Jun 02, 2006 12:30 am

[NME]T-Bone wrote:
Grummun wrote:Unlike T, I pretty much only play games on my windows rig
wha? no pr0n? :lol:
Linux plus Firefox = no spyware or viruses from browsing pr0n. :P ;)

User avatar
[NME]T-Bone
[NME] tried and true
[NME] tried and true
Posts: 2818
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2002 8:00 pm
Location: Sharpsville, PA

Post by [NME]T-Bone » Sun Jun 04, 2006 9:54 pm

Price dropped $400+ for the FX processors. Expect the rest of the product line to drop soon. 8)

http://www.pricegrabber.com/p__AMD_Athl ... arch=fx+60
T-Bone

"If we hit that bullseye, the rest of the dominos
will fall like a house of cards. Checkmate."

User avatar
boat
[NME] tried and true
[NME] tried and true
Posts: 2753
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2001 8:00 pm
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Contact:

Post by boat » Tue Jun 06, 2006 2:52 pm


User avatar
[NME]T-Bone
[NME] tried and true
[NME] tried and true
Posts: 2818
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2002 8:00 pm
Location: Sharpsville, PA

Post by [NME]T-Bone » Thu Jun 08, 2006 10:50 am

Prices for the single core AM2's have dropped only one week after their release. A whopping 45% drop for the 3800+. Expect the AM2 dual cores to drop soon, followed by the 939's. :D
T-Bone

"If we hit that bullseye, the rest of the dominos
will fall like a house of cards. Checkmate."

User avatar
[NME]T-Bone
[NME] tried and true
[NME] tried and true
Posts: 2818
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2002 8:00 pm
Location: Sharpsville, PA

Post by [NME]T-Bone » Fri Jun 09, 2006 8:48 am

The price war has begun.
T-Bone

"If we hit that bullseye, the rest of the dominos
will fall like a house of cards. Checkmate."

User avatar
[NME]T-Bone
[NME] tried and true
[NME] tried and true
Posts: 2818
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2002 8:00 pm
Location: Sharpsville, PA

Post by [NME]T-Bone » Sun Jun 11, 2006 11:55 pm

T-Bone

"If we hit that bullseye, the rest of the dominos
will fall like a house of cards. Checkmate."

User avatar
Forester
[NME] tried and true
[NME] tried and true
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2002 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis, MN

Post by Forester » Thu Jun 15, 2006 3:48 pm

I just found this link to a png of prices on AMDs on slickdeals.net
http://images.dailytech.com/nimage/1779 ... ricing.png

an X2 4600+ for $301 W00T! I see an upgrade for me in the near future.
-Forester

User avatar
[NME]T-Bone
[NME] tried and true
[NME] tried and true
Posts: 2818
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2002 8:00 pm
Location: Sharpsville, PA

Post by [NME]T-Bone » Thu Jun 15, 2006 4:19 pm

Forester wrote:I just found this link to a png of prices on AMDs on slickdeals.net
http://images.dailytech.com/nimage/1779 ... ricing.png

an X2 4600+ for $301 W00T! I see an upgrade for me in the near future.
Now aren't ya glad you waited? ;) A 4600+ beats a 3800+. Of course you can OC the 3800+ up to 2.6ghz with no problems.

User avatar
boat
[NME] tried and true
[NME] tried and true
Posts: 2753
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2001 8:00 pm
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Contact:

Post by boat » Thu Jun 15, 2006 5:02 pm

but its still over a month away...those appear to be july prices... :? :P

Post Reply