slow downs?

The place for any forum suggestions, tips, requests, etc...

Moderators: boat, rickh

User avatar
boat
[NME] tried and true
[NME] tried and true
Posts: 2753
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2001 8:00 pm
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Contact:

slow downs?

Post by boat » Mon Sep 22, 2003 1:00 am

while im trying to figure out whats caused/causing the barn to have slowed down, i think im going to trim her up some, soooo...what themes is everyone using, if any? gonna trim away any unused themes :oops: :)

thanks.

User avatar
Dictator
[NME] tried and true
[NME] tried and true
Posts: 989
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2002 8:00 pm
Location: Central Pennsylvania

Post by Dictator » Mon Sep 22, 2003 7:39 am

Optimize your database server might help? Dunno, I'm just guessing. :toothy:

User avatar
Drewbacca
[NME] tried and true
[NME] tried and true
Posts: 1581
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2001 8:00 pm

Post by Drewbacca » Mon Sep 22, 2003 9:52 am

If you're getting statistical... I'm using Chronicles on the Barnacle, and am now going to watch Bionicle which isn't too logical, but I'm not on any chemical, so maybe I'm just going radical.

8)
"Do good, because it ain't bad."

User avatar
boat
[NME] tried and true
[NME] tried and true
Posts: 2753
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2001 8:00 pm
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Contact:

Post by boat » Mon Sep 22, 2003 9:54 am

Dictator wrote:Optimize your database server might help? Dunno, I'm just guessing. :toothy:
ive tried everything i know...optimize, repair, flush... :-? any others?

User avatar
Drewbacca
[NME] tried and true
[NME] tried and true
Posts: 1581
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2001 8:00 pm

Post by Drewbacca » Mon Sep 22, 2003 10:13 am

boat wrote:ive tried everything i know...optimize, repair, flush... :-? any others?
Are you talking about the Barn or your toilet? ;)

8)
"Do good, because it ain't bad."

User avatar
boat
[NME] tried and true
[NME] tried and true
Posts: 2753
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2001 8:00 pm
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Contact:

Post by boat » Mon Sep 22, 2003 4:04 pm

both :oops: :P

User avatar
Dictator
[NME] tried and true
[NME] tried and true
Posts: 989
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2002 8:00 pm
Location: Central Pennsylvania

Post by Dictator » Mon Sep 22, 2003 4:17 pm

Are you using MySQL or PostgreSQL?


Right now, the barn is fine for me, but last week, it was pretty darn slow. Maybe something related with your ISP/bandwidth? Done with downloading some pr0n dvds? :roll: :oops: :P :lol:

User avatar
boat
[NME] tried and true
[NME] tried and true
Posts: 2753
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2001 8:00 pm
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Contact:

Post by boat » Mon Sep 22, 2003 5:34 pm

Dictator wrote:Are you using MySQL or PostgreSQL?


Right now, the barn is fine for me, but last week, it was pretty darn slow. Maybe something related with your ISP/bandwidth? Done with downloading some pr0n dvds? :roll: :oops: :P :lol:
mysql.

naw, not a bandwidth problem 'cause its slow on my lan too. its like it just hangs and/or processes the page/link for too long :-? i had the temp barn setup and running, with everything transferred over, and when i was testing it to make sure it was running ok, its was still doing hanging thing :evil: (so this is still the working barn btw :P ) ...im stumped...had a fresh install of fbsd, apache, php, mysql, and it was still hanging...i ran the optimize, repair and flush commands yesterday, and its still hanging :oops: :evil: :-?

User avatar
[NME]T-Bone
[NME] tried and true
[NME] tried and true
Posts: 2818
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2002 8:00 pm
Location: Sharpsville, PA

Post by [NME]T-Bone » Mon Sep 22, 2003 7:35 pm

Hrmmmm.... couldn't be the 50 or so smilies you put on each of your posts could it? :P After all, apache has to parse every page for all the tokens that need replaced by smilies.

User avatar
Drewbacca
[NME] tried and true
[NME] tried and true
Posts: 1581
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2001 8:00 pm

Post by Drewbacca » Tue Sep 23, 2003 2:32 am

[NME]T-Bone wrote:Hrmmmm.... couldn't be the 50 or so smilies you put on each of your posts could it? :P After all, apache has to parse every page for all the tokens that need replaced by smilies.
:rofl: Heh heh heh. Woohoo! :thewave:

8)
"Do good, because it ain't bad."

User avatar
Dictator
[NME] tried and true
[NME] tried and true
Posts: 989
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2002 8:00 pm
Location: Central Pennsylvania

Post by Dictator » Tue Sep 23, 2003 8:07 am

boat wrote:naw, not a bandwidth problem 'cause its slow on my lan too. its like it just hangs and/or processes the page/link for too long :-? i had the temp barn setup and running, with everything transferred over, and when i was testing it to make sure it was running ok, its was still doing hanging thing :evil: (so this is still the working barn btw :P ) ...im stumped...had a fresh install of fbsd, apache, php, mysql, and it was still hanging...i ran the optimize, repair and flush commands yesterday, and its still hanging :oops: :evil: :-?
What was error messages if you found any and what processes that were hanging? Maybe you should check the forums or use google to find solutions.

You can check out mysql forum, http://forums.devshed.com/f4/s1f65d41a7 ... a86cbb597c

Good luck. :P

User avatar
boat
[NME] tried and true
[NME] tried and true
Posts: 2753
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2001 8:00 pm
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Contact:

Post by boat » Tue Sep 23, 2003 10:49 am

Dictator wrote:
boat wrote:naw, not a bandwidth problem 'cause its slow on my lan too. its like it just hangs and/or processes the page/link for too long :-? i had the temp barn setup and running, with everything transferred over, and when i was testing it to make sure it was running ok, its was still doing hanging thing :evil: (so this is still the working barn btw :P ) ...im stumped...had a fresh install of fbsd, apache, php, mysql, and it was still hanging...i ran the optimize, repair and flush commands yesterday, and its still hanging :oops: :evil: :-?
What was error messages if you found any and what processes that were hanging? Maybe you should check the forums or use google to find solutions.

You can check out mysql forum, http://forums.devshed.com/f4/s1f65d41a7 ... a86cbb597c

Good luck. :P
dats just it, there are no error messages anywhere, and none of the processes seem to be hanging or crashing or anything :-? i still dont think its mysql cause some of the more sql intensive pages load right up (like the statistics page or a search). guess boner might be onto sumn w/ apache and the smilies, etc :oops: :roll: :P

:-?

User avatar
Dictator
[NME] tried and true
[NME] tried and true
Posts: 989
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2002 8:00 pm
Location: Central Pennsylvania

Post by Dictator » Tue Sep 23, 2003 11:04 am

try this: ps -aux | grep httpd

then post the results here. Could be memory-related. Sometimes, it hangs on when apache uses most of memory and the ram is full.

User avatar
boat
[NME] tried and true
[NME] tried and true
Posts: 2753
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2001 8:00 pm
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Contact:

Post by boat » Tue Sep 23, 2003 5:14 pm

i dunno...has 300MB of memory, so i shouldnt hope itd be a problem...was even 'hangy' ont he temp barn i was setting up w/ 128MB ram. i guess just too junk for this lil ole processor and apache to process :oops:

oh, and i turned of gzip compression in phpbb to try to lighten apache's load...i havent been on much, but it doesnt seem to have been 'hanging' as much. anyone else notice anything? :-?

last pid: 3020; load averages: 0.10, 0.10, 0.04 up 1+21:26:38 17:07:33
-bash-2.05b$ ps -aux | grep httpd
root 130 0.0 1.5 4996 4324 ?? Ss Sun07PM 0:07.06 /usr/local/sbin/httpd
www 153 0.0 2.8 8424 8100 ?? I Sun07PM 6:00.84 /usr/local/sbin/httpd
www 154 0.0 2.8 8412 8084 ?? I Sun07PM 5:36.47 /usr/local/sbin/httpd
www 155 0.0 2.8 8436 8112 ?? I Sun07PM 5:26.76 /usr/local/sbin/httpd
www 156 0.0 2.7 8224 7896 ?? I Sun07PM 5:22.25 /usr/local/sbin/httpd
www 157 0.0 2.7 8176 7840 ?? I Sun07PM 5:43.21 /usr/local/sbin/httpd
www 229 0.0 2.8 8404 8052 ?? I Sun07PM 4:46.25 /usr/local/sbin/httpd
www 230 0.0 2.8 8448 8108 ?? I Sun07PM 4:33.61 /usr/local/sbin/httpd
www 231 0.0 2.7 8228 7884 ?? I Sun07PM 4:01.67 /usr/local/sbin/httpd
www 232 0.6 2.7 8092 7748 ?? I Sun07PM 5:35.91 /usr/local/sbin/httpd
www 233 0.0 2.8 8428 8088 ?? I Sun07PM 4:36.29 /usr/local/sbin/httpd
-bash-2.05b$
:drinking:

User avatar
[NME]T-Bone
[NME] tried and true
[NME] tried and true
Posts: 2818
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2002 8:00 pm
Location: Sharpsville, PA

Post by [NME]T-Bone » Wed Sep 24, 2003 8:15 am

Turning off gzip may have helped a lil... seems better than before but stil not 100%

User avatar
boat
[NME] tried and true
[NME] tried and true
Posts: 2753
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2001 8:00 pm
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Contact:

Post by boat » Wed Sep 24, 2003 8:37 am

welp, ye ole barn might be getting a processor upgrade, so maybe thatll help speed things up...

200-300MHz dual processor machine! :D
256MB installed ram with many a slots for expansion.
cdrom, floppy, tape drive
...needs a hd though...speaking of which...anyone have a 68 pin ultra wide scsi hd lying around...? :oops: :lol: :P

oh, also might have a separate, 6 drive raid array with it too! :surp: :D ...cant figure out how to access the controller in it though, to format teh drives and mess with teh raid configurations :oops: :-? might be able to serial into it, but i wouldnt know where to begin...think the controller is in need of a new battery for teh cache as well :-?

:D

User avatar
[NME]T-Bone
[NME] tried and true
[NME] tried and true
Posts: 2818
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2002 8:00 pm
Location: Sharpsville, PA

Post by [NME]T-Bone » Wed Sep 24, 2003 8:53 am

Ultra wide SCSI... get wif the times. :P

You may not need a util to access the raid controller. a lot of them are accessible during boot. Dell's perc cards are ctrl-a during boot to access the raid bios, just watch for the startup messages. anyhoo, a lot of those raid cards can be programmed right from the raid bios. just tell it raid 0,1, whatever and the stripe size (if striping). there should even be a format/create array option in there.

User avatar
boat
[NME] tried and true
[NME] tried and true
Posts: 2753
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2001 8:00 pm
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Contact:

Post by boat » Wed Sep 24, 2003 1:38 pm

[NME]T-Bone wrote:Ultra wide SCSI... get wif the times. :P

You may not need a util to access the raid controller. a lot of them are accessible during boot. Dell's perc cards are ctrl-a during boot to access the raid bios, just watch for the startup messages. anyhoo, a lot of those raid cards can be programmed right from the raid bios. just tell it raid 0,1, whatever and the stripe size (if striping). there should even be a format/create array option in there.
naw, the raid im talking about is a whole separate raid storage tower...all it is is a heavy arse tower, with 7 slots, w/ 6 drives in it, two swapable ps's and a raid controller in one of the upper 5.25 slots. there are a coupla serial connections in the back and 2 scsi connections. doesnt even have any kinda brand markings anyhwere that i can find. closest ive come to finding anything about it is in teh workstation scsi utility when i have it hooked up, is that it shows it as a DEC SC4200 (yes, dec/digital is no mo...part of the whole compaq/hp fiasco :oops: :P ). i tried to access it thru teh scsi bios at boot time, but to no avail :-? and i cant find any kinda documentation fer da damned thing anywhere, given the dec being gone, and the klunky thing being so old :oops: :lol:

as far as teh workstation/possible new barn, the ultra wide scsi is built into teh mb i think, so im stuck with it. that said: would a ultra2/ultra3/ultra160/etc wide scsi drive be backwaqrds compatible with a regualr ole ultra wide scsi? many of the hd's i came across on pricewatch were like ultra2 and up :-?

User avatar
[NME]T-Bone
[NME] tried and true
[NME] tried and true
Posts: 2818
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2002 8:00 pm
Location: Sharpsville, PA

Post by [NME]T-Bone » Wed Sep 24, 2003 2:08 pm

DEC SC4200, sheeesh. The "SC" usually means Single Channel, which in SCSI terms is up to 15 devices.

A lot of the ultra's and ultra wides (too many friggin scsi types!!!) are backward compatable. Just be sure of the vd... no, not herpes, Voltage Differential. Most of the newer drives are LVD (low voltage differential).

User avatar
boat
[NME] tried and true
[NME] tried and true
Posts: 2753
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2001 8:00 pm
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Contact:

Post by boat » Wed Sep 24, 2003 3:14 pm

[NME]T-Bone wrote:DEC SC4200, sheeesh. The "SC" usually means Single Channel, which in SCSI terms is up to 15 devices.

A lot of the ultra's and ultra wides (too many friggin scsi types!!!) are backward compatable. Just be sure of the vd... no, not herpes, Voltage Differential. Most of the newer drives are LVD (low voltage differential).
there has to be a way to serial into for a terminal session since it has the serial connections...i just wouldnt know how/where to begin to get into teh controller via that way :-? i took teh controller battery out yesterday and checked teh voltage...gave 1.xV reading though on the case it says 2.0V :oops: :-?

...so if i get one of these 68 pin ultra2 wide scsi hd's it should downgrade itself or whatever? :P ...what about this lvd stuff? looks like teh ultra2's and up are listed as lvd :-?

Post Reply